family tree
press releases
mailing list
site map

live and rare: information

  • Vodafone Italy commissioned a new advertisment for late 2003/early 2004. They also commissioned Simple Minds to record a new version of Don't You (Forget About Me) for the ad. After several new remixes were recorded, the Gerret Frerich remix of Don't You (Forget About Me) was selected as the soundtrack.

  • In conjunction with this campaign, Vodafone released a limited edition album of rare and live material by Simple Minds. This followed a similar promotion featuring Simply Red.

  • The sleeve is misleading about the first mix of Don't You (Forget About Me). Special Mix by Hu-Mate is actually Gerret Frerich's radio mix, used in the Vodafone advertisement and previously released on the Don't You (Forget About Me) 2003 single.

  • The sleeve also neglects to mention that the version of The Man Who Sold The World is a White Spaces remix and not the Neon Lights album track. This is believed to be an outtake from the Neon Lights sessions.

  • An acoustic version of New Sunshine Morning (called New Sunrise) appeared on the B-side of Spaceface, recorded as a session for Billy Sloan. Live And Rare features a different mix of that recording with all sorts of different effects and added instrumentation.

  • Simple Minds also recorded two new exclusive covers for Live And Rare: White Light/White Heat and Dirty Old Town. Recorded in Glasgow during band rehearsals for the Alive And Kicking 2003 tour, they were first premiered on Billy Sloan's Sunday night radio show on the 1st December 2003.

  • White Light/White Heat was a live favourite back in 1977 for Johnny And The Self Abusers - this is the first time that it's appeared on an official Simple Minds release.

  • Dirty Old Town was recorded as a tribute to football legend Jimmy Johnstone who is battling Motor Neurone Disease. The song will be also included on the soundtrack to the film about the Celtic footballer's life story. Jimmy came into the studio to record backing vocals on Ewan MacColl's song (made most famous by The Pogues.)

  • Feeling that the song was missing a vital element, Jim and Charlie asked Mick MacNeil to play accordion on the song. This was Mick's first recording with Simple Minds since 1989.

  • Jim also changed the lyrics. Instead of singing "Saw a train set the night on fire" he sung "Saw Jimmy Johnson set the night on fire."

  • Rather than dig out a live 1991 recording of Belfast Child, a recording from 1989's Verona was used - the first time that this version has appeared on CD. Mandela Day is from the same source, but has been severely edited (complete with extra dubbed crowd noise).

  • Alive And Kicking, Love Song- Sun City- Dance To The Music and New Gold Dream were all lifted from 1987's Live In The City Of Light.

  • The sleeve states Special Mix by Perky Park for the second outing of Don't You (Forget About Me) on this disc, but it's simply the Perky Park's radio mix from the Don't You (Forget About Me) 2003 single.

  • Biko is the odd song out, being neither live nor rare; it's simply the Street Fighing Years version.

  • And again the sleeve is misleading. The final song is actually the DJ Tomcraft Remix of Spaceface, only previously available on 12".

  • The CD was only available from Vodafone shops in Italy. You could pick up a copy by topping up your phone and paying an extra five Euros.

  • The odd looking Claddagh logo on the back of the album, and on the CD, is the logo of Celtic Taormina.

  • At the last minute, Vodafone switched the music for the advertisement, using Dido's White Flag instead. A furious Jim Kerr started legal proceedings.

live and rare: quick reference
CD    Live And Rare Vodafone VODRM004
1. Don't You (Forget About Me)[Gerret Frerich's Radio Mix]      (3:33)
2. The Man Who Sold The World[White Spaces Main Mix](5:21)
3. New Sunrise[Alternative Mix](3:50)
4. White Light/White Heat(4:29)
5. Dirty Old Town(3:22)
6. Belfast Child[Live](8:18)
7. Mandela Day[Live Edit](3:23)
8. Alive And Kicking[Live](6:25)
9. Love Song- Sun City- Dance To The Music[Live](7:00)
10. New Gold Dream (81,82,83,84)[Live](5:31)
11. Don't You (Forget About Me)[Perky Park's Radio Mix](3:45)
12. Biko(7:35)
13. Spaceface[DJ Tomcraft Remix](5:37)

previous album next album

Don't You (Forget About Me) 2003 single