family tree
press releases
mailing list
site map

acoustic in concert: information

  • On the eve of the albumís release in November 2016, the band took to the stage at Londonís Hackney Empire to perform a special show for the BBC Radio2 In Concert series.

  • The show comprises acoustic versions of some of their greatest hits and best-loved tracks along with cover versions of some of the songs that shaped them. Watch out for a very special guest on the finale!.

  • The Hackney Empire show was recorded and broadcast by the BBC in association with Eagle Vision, so it was not surprising when it turned up as a release in its own right seveal months later.

  • Its release date was set to coincide with the UK leg of the Acoustic tour.

  • Three formats carried the entire gig: these included a BluRay, DVD and double DVD-CD package.

  • Some slight edits were made: the opening random noise and studio chat of Andy Warhol was removed whilst Make Me Smile (Come Up And See Me) had the second, aborted middle-eight seamlessly edited out.

  • The artwork was based on the Acoustic LP with the names of the songs written on the guitar suitably altered to reflect the concert.

  • Billy Sloan wrote the sleeve notes which were included in all three formats. They were based on the more extensive essay he wrote for the Acoustic Tour Programme.

  • Similar packages were released on CD/DVD and Blu-Ray.

acoustic in concert: quick reference
DVD   Acoustic In Concert Eagle Rock EREDV 1280
1. New Gold Dream (81,82,83,84)[Acoustic Live](7:05)
2. See The Lights[Acoustic Live](4:52)
3. Glittering Prize[Acoustic Live](4:14)
4. Stand By Love[Acoustic Live](4:26)
5. Waterfront[Acoustic Live](5:47)
6. Andy Warhol[Acoustic Live](3:26)
7. Chelsea Girl[Acoustic Live](4:23)
8. Someone Somewhere In Summertime      [Acoustic Live](5:30)
9. Dancing Barefoot      [Acoustic Live](4:01)
10. Speed Your Love To Me      [Acoustic Live](3:47)
11. Promised You A Miracle[Acoustic Live](4:49)
12. Don't You (Forget About Me)[Acoustic Live](5:57)
13. Sanctify Yourself[Acoustic Live](5:49)
14. Long Black Train[Acoustic Live](3:19)
15. Alive And Kicking[Acoustic Live](6:36)
16. Make Me Smile (Come Up And See Me)[Acoustic Live](4:59)

previous dvd