family tree
press releases
mailing list
site map

sparkle in the rain hmv 1921 centenary edition: information

HMV 1921-2021 100th Anniversary

Celebrating 100 years of HMV and our love for music

Our Centenary range is a reafully curated collection of some of our favourite albums from the past 100 years.

Presented in HMV excusive limited edition packaging.

A must have for your vinyl collection.

His Master's Voice, HMV, the band made famous by the iconic image of the 'dog and trumpet' trademark featuring Nipper, is synonymous with the fabric of British popular music and culture. Our rich heritage as spaces for artists and music fans dates back 100 years when on July 20th 1921, the first His Master's Voice shop opened its doors at 363 Oxford Street, London.

The shops became places for music lovers to meet, cut their demo and sell their recordings. Today we continue to support local artists and help share their music with fans. Since that time HMV has made music and entertainment available to its customers in every physical format imaginable: from sheet music and the earliest gramophone, 78s through to vinyl, cassettes, MiniDisc and CDs.

Thank you for an incredible 100 years of loving music together.

Here's to the next 100 years...

  • HMV announced the 1921 Centenary Series on the 24th July. This carefully curated collection of some of HMV's favourite albums from the past 100 years were presented in HMV exclusive limited edition packaging.

  • Sparkle In The Rain was Number 56 in the series, and was pressed up on 180g orange vinyl and packaged with a silver HMV obi-strip. It was formally announced on the 19th October 2021 and went on sale on the 13th November 2021.

  • Only 1000 were produced.

  • It was the 2015 remaster with the addition of an obi-strip and pressed on orange vinyl.

sparkle in the rain: quick reference
LP     Sparkle In The Rain Universal 3797354
A1. Up On The Catwalk(4:46)
A2. Book Of Brilliant Things(4:22)
A3. Speed Your Love To Me(4:25)
A4. Waterfront(4:49)
A5. East At Easter(3:33)
B1. Street Hassle(5:15)
B2. White Hot Day(4:34)
B3. "C" Moon Cry Like A Baby(4:21)
B4. The Kick Inside Of Me(4:49)
B5. Shake Off The Ghosts(3:59)

previous album next album